Cricket West Indies (CWI) on Saturday announced a 16-man squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against India.

Kieron Pollard will continue his leadership role while Nicholas Pooran has been named vice-captain of the team. The Men in Maroon Indies will play three ODIs in Ahmedabad from February 6 to 11, followed by the T20I series in Kolkata.

While all-rounder Andre Russell continues to miss out, wicketkeeper-batter Shai Hope has been retained as a back-up for Pooran. Big-hitter Rovman Powell, who smashed his maiden T20I century in the ongoing home series against England, was also picked for the India tour.

Talking about the team selection, Director of the CWI Desmond Haynes said: “The team has been doing well in the Betway T20I Series against England in Barbados and we decided to stick with the same group of players. They have demonstrated great skill and fight and we expect the same kind of performances on the tour of India.”

Pollard & Co. is currently locking horns with the English side in a five-match T20I series. The series stands level at 2-2, with the decider set to be played on Sunday evening in Bridgetown, Barbados.

Earlier this month, West Indies announced their squad for India ODIs, handing a recall to fast bowler Kemar Roach.

West Indies T20I squad for India series:

Kieron Pollard (c), Nicholas Pooran (vc), Fabien Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Rovman Powell, Odean Smith, Romario Shepherd, Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh.

Leave a Reply