SL vs AUS: Australia name multi-format squad for the Sri Lanka tour

Australia will tour Sri Lanka in June-July for the multi-format series.

- Advertisement -

Cricket Australia (CA) has announced the squads for the upcoming multi-format tour of Sri Lanka starting in June-July. The tour consists of three T20Is, five ODIs and two Tests, beginning June 7. The R Premadasa Stadium, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and the Galle International Stadium will host the red-ball and white-ball fixtures.

Quite a few players, who weren’t a part of the Pakistan tour to participate in the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022, have made a comeback. However, leg-spinner Adam Zampa won’t be travelling to Sri Lanka as his wife is expected to give birth to their child.

Similarly, Pat Cummins has been rested from the three-match T20I series but will return in the ODIs and Tests. Left-handed batter Marcus Harris has also been dropped after his poor outing in the 2021-22 Ashes at home.

“These are very targeted to skill sets and what we see as the bulk of the squad for the home T20 World Cup and looking further forward to the ODI World Cup,” said Men’s Chair of National Selectors George Bailey in a statement.

“We were able to continue to build our depth with great white ball performances in Pakistan on the back of a superb Test Series. As selectors, this has been one of the most rewarding parts amid the challenges of the past few years,” he added.

Here are the squads:

  • T20I: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner
  • ODI: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner
  • Test: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner