On Tuesday, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) chairman Ramiz Raja said that he is planning to propose a four-nation T20 International (T20I) series to the International Cricket Council (ICC). Ramiz took to Twitter and mentioned that the four nations are India, Pakistan, England and Australia.

Ramiz said that in the proposal, all the respective nations would be subjected to host the quadrangular series every year on a rotation basis. Further, the PCB chief also informed that if the series goes ahead, the profits shall be shared between all ICC members on a percentage basis.

“Hello, fans.Will propose to the ICC a Four Nations T20i Super Series involving Pak Ind Aus Eng to be played every year, to be hosted on a rotation basis by these four. A separate revenue model with profits to be shared on a percentage basis with all ICC members, think we have a winner,” Ramiz wrote on Twitter.

Notably, India and Pakistan have not played against each other in matches outside ICC events or the Asia Cup since 2013. The arch-rivals last met in a bilateral series back in 2012-13 when India hosted their neighbours where both nations played 2 T20Is and 3 ODIs.

Similarly, when it comes to red-ball format, India and Pakistan have not met in a bilateral Test series since the 2007-08 season.

Not to forget, the fierce rivals recently met in the group stage of the T20 World Cup 2021 in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), where the Babar Azam-led side defeated Virat Kohli and Co. by 10 wickets. It was Pakistan’s first win against India in the ICC World Cups.

Overall, India and Pakistan have played 59 Tests, 132 ODIs, and 9 T20Is against each other, in which Pakistan have a slight edge against their rivals. Out of 59 Tests, India have won 9 games while Pakistan have 12 victories, rest 38 fixtures ended in a draw.

Likewise, in 132 ODIs, Pakistan have won 73 matches while India have managed 55 triumphs and four games had no result. When it comes to the shortest format, India are ahead with seven wins out of nine matches, whereas Pakistan have only two victories to their credit.

Leave a Reply