The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced that the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 will kickstart on March 26 in Mumbai after the meeting of the IPL Governing Council on Thursday. The decision was taken at a meeting of the IPL Governing Council (GC) on Thursday (February 24) evening.

The 10-team IPL edition will have 70 league matches and will begin just 11 days after the Indian cricket team finishes its ongoing assignment against Sri Lanka. The league stage of the Indian Premier League 2022 will be played across 4 venues in Mumbai and Pune with the final scheduled to be played on May 29 in Ahmedabad due to the coronavirus pandemic.

55 league matches will be held in Mumbai, while 15 will be played in Pune. Each team will play 4 matches at the Wankhede Stadium and the DY Patil Stadium and 3 each at the Brabourne Stadium and the MCA Stadium. The IPL 2022 final will be played on May 30 at Narendra Modi Stadium, popularly known as Motera Stadium, in Ahmedabad. Playoffs will also be played at Motera Stadium.

The IPL 2022, which sees the addition of 2 new teams in Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants, will witness an increase of 14 league stage matches. Chennai Super Kings, led by MS Dhoni, will be looking to defend their title and equal Mumbai Indians’ record for the most successful franchise. Earlier, the IPL 2022 mega auction was held in Bengaluru on February 12 and 13 where all 10 franchises bought players and compiled their squads for the upcoming 15th edition of the league.

Leave a Reply