On Tuesday, Cricket Australia (CA) announced the 16-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka, starting on February 11 in Sydney.

Ben McDermott, the leading run-getter in the ongoing Big Bash League (BBL) 2021-22, has been recalled to the T20I squad. McDermott was last seen representing Australia during the tour of Bangladesh in August 2021. Similarly, Moises Henriques, who too was a part of the tour of Bangladesh, also returned to the set-up.

Further, Travis Head, the Player of the Series in the recently-concluded Ashes 2021-22, and fast bowler Jhye Richardson have also made their comeback in the Aussie squad. Head last played a T20I in 2018 against Pakistan, while Richardson featured during Australia’s tour of New Zealand in early 2021.

However, David Warner and Mitchell Marsh, who rocked the charts during Australia’s T20 World Cup triumph last year, have been rested to prepare for the Pakistan tour that follows right after the Sri Lanka T20Is.

The T20I series against Lankans will also witness the comeback of pacer Josh Hazlewood, who has been out of action since the first Ashes Test last month due to a side strain.

“This squad will begin preparation for the ICC T20 World Cup defence at home later this year and includes several players who have an early chance to impress in these five matches against a quality opposition,” said the chairman of the selection committee, George Bailey, as quoted by Cricket.com.au.

Here is the Australia squad for Sri Lanka T20Is:

Aaron Finch (captain), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Josh Inglis, Ben McDermott, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

Leave a Reply