The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Wednesday announced the 18-player squads for the upcoming ODI and T20I series against West Indies.

Rohit Sharma has been declared fit and will captain India in the home series starting in February.

The West Indies’ limited-overs tour of India includes three ODIs at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad and three T20Is at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

India vice-captain KL Rahul will miss the opening ODI fixture due to personal reasons, but will join the squad for the remaining matches.

Young spinner Ravi Bishnoi, who was recently signed up by the Lucknow Super Giants for IPL 2022, has received a maiden call-up into the national team.

While power-hitter Deepak Hooda has been added to the ODI squad for the first time, wrist-spinner Kuldeep Yadav makes his return after injury.

Fast bowlers – Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Shami – have been rested, while all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Hardik Pandya were unavailable for selection due to their respective injuries.

India T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk),Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohammed Siraj, Bhuvneshwar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel

India ODI squad: Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohammed Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan.

Leave a Reply